SBIFF: Austin Butler, Ki Hui Kwan & More Received Virtuosos Award

Austin Butler (“Elvis”), Keri Condon (“The Banshees of Inisherin”), Danielle Didweiler (“Up”), Nina Hoss (“Tár”), Stephanie Hsu (“Everything Everywhere at Once”), Jeremy Pope (“Inspection”), Ke Huy Quan (“Everything Everywhere at Once”) and Jeremy Strong (“Armageddon Time”) are among the recipients of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s Virtuosos Prize.

The award is given to a select group of talents whose notable performances have contributed to films that have elevated them to the level of national cinematic dialogue. Each will discuss their work and receive their awards in person on February 15th during the 38th SBIFF. The evening will be moderated by Dave Karger, host of Turner Classic Movies and Entertainment Weekly Awards reporter.

In the past three years, honorees from Virtuosos have included Caitriona Balfe, Ariana DeBose, Jamie Dornan, Alana Haim, Ciarán Hinds, Emilia Jones, Troy Kotsur, Simon Rex, Saniyya Sidney, Riz Ahmed, Maria Bakalova, Kingsley Ben-Adir and Andra Day, Sydney Flanigan, Vanessa Kirby, Tahir Rahim, Zendaya, Awkwafina, Taron Egerton, Cynthia Erivo, Benny Feldstein, Aldis Hodge, George MacKay, Florence Pugh and Taylor Russell.

The 38th Santa Barbara International Film Festival will be held from February 8-18.

‘Everything Everywhere at once’ filmmakers among the honorees at the 2022 Asia Society Southern California Entertainment Summit

The filmmakers behind Everything Everywhere Every Time were featured as ‘Entertainment Game-changers’ at the 2022 Asia Society Entertainment Summit in Southern California, representing the film’s curvature success in transcending international boundaries through culturally rich storytelling. Producer Jonathan Wang and director duo Daniel Quan and Daniel Scheinert accept the award presented by co-star Ke Huy Quan’s “Everything is Everywhere”.

Held at the Skirball Cultural Center on October 30, the annual gala has similarly served to honor content creators in Asian and American entertainment in areas ranging from stand-up comedy to record production. Other “fun game changers” of the evening include Emmy-nominated Bowen Yang, who became the first Chinese-American actor on “Saturday Night Live,” “Turning Red” voice actress Sherry Cola, Ms. Marvel” creator of Sanat Amanat and members of the Asian-American record label 88rising. Janet Yang, who recently became president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, was also honored with a Career Achievement Award.

Fancy House of VFX Assigns Janeane Conway and Chris Green to Senior Team

The Fancy House of Visual Effects has named veteran VFX veterans Janine Conway and Chris Green to its first team. Conway has joined the studio as first producer, where she will oversee production and business development. Green was named installation supervisor, focusing on the visual effects of features and television.

Conway previously worked as a producer for several visual effects and design houses such as Buck and Method Studios. She also collaborated with Fancy VFX on ad campaigns for FedEx and Service Now. Her other credits as a VFX product include Google, Microsoft, Mastercard, Comcast, and Budweiser.

Prior to Fancy VFX, Green served as senior nuclear weapons author at Crafty Apes VFX. His recent list of works includes “Dexter: New Blood”, “Severance” and “Star Trek: Discovery”.

Critics’ Choice Awards Update Voting Timeline, Names

The Critics’ Choice Association has revealed an update to the schedule for the 28th Annual Critics’ Choice Awards.

The full schedule is listed below. The party will take place on Sunday, January 15, 2023, from Fairmount Century Plaza in Los Angeles with host Chelsea Handler.

The 28th Annual Critics’ Choice Awards Schedule

Monday 14 November 2022 – TV Shows Close
Tuesday 15 November 2022 – NomComs begin deliberations (TV)
Friday, December 2, 2022 – NomComs makes recommendations (TV)
Friday, December 2, 2022 – The nomination papers for the members of the Film Branch will be released
Tuesday, December 6, 2022 – TV Nominations Announced for the Critics’ Choice Awards
Friday, December 9, 2022 – Deadline for returning nomination papers (film)
Wednesday December 14, 2022 – Critics Choice Awards Nominations Announced
Friday, January 6, 2023 – Final voting for members of the Film Branch takes place
Friday January 6, 2023 – Final voting takes place on the members of the TV branch
Friday January 13, 2023 – Deadline for Return of Final Ballot Papers (film)
Sunday January 15, 2023 – 28th Annual Critics’ Choice Awards

(Visited 22 times, 1 visits today)

Related posts